Our story

"Through the white windows of the workshop-boutique, there is a formula book, a composition organ, a gray stone angel, a geranium stretching towards the sun, and a few dabs that a pretty cursive writing has taken care to name. There, bottles in rows and pipettes in bouquets; in a corner, a pale hydrangea head waits patiently for its round petals to dry next to oblong boxes signed Alexandra Bachand. "Everything begins with a dream".

-Isabelle Naessens, Henkel Media editor

The story

It all begins in 2010. Alexandra Bachand leaves Montreal with her husband and their little family. She returns to her roots. Visual and graphic artist, she is inspired by the countryside, flower gardens and especially smells. It is the crossroads to unfold a great dream. She embarked on the most ambitious professional project of her life: the creation of an independent perfume house in Quebec, whose workshop is open to the public. Over the years, she trained in the know-how of fine perfumery and perfume became her medium of artistic creation. It is in Europe that she learns the trade, in the tradition and according to the rules of the art.

"La Grange du Parfumeur: like in a Proust or Flaubert novel, the reminiscence of a bygone era, a cliché on a sepia background, time seems suspended. Yes, here time stands still," confides Alexandra, with the disarming charm of a Madame Bovary. In my studio, there is a clock that does not indicate the time. Visitors are transported by the invisible beauty of perfume and its evocation. She welcomes them near the horse at the entrance to the Garden of Scents, which she has created to showcase her art by creating an exhibition called "Parfums à ciel ouvert". In this month of August, the scent of wild blackberries, heady lilies and a romanticism that undoubtedly awakens the senses are floating around. Her husband Eric Delbaere, co-founder and also an artist, brings the olfactory experience to customers."

-Isabelle Naessens, Henkel Media editor

La Grange in some important dates

08/2016
Launch of the online store.

07/2017

La Grange du Parfumeur officially opens its doors to the public after years of research, training, creation and preparation. A selection of the most beautiful natural and aromatic raw materials compose the perfumer's organ (a palette of 400 notes). Each perfume requires about 1 year of work in formulation before being manufactured, macerated in local grain alcohol and bottled on site with rigor in the laboratory of La Grange.

11/2018

The House's first fragrance, "Reve à Paris", is now part of the prestigious archive collection of the International Perfume Conservatory in Versailles, France.

Alexandra's work as an olfactory artist and curator is represented in several international museum institutions. From 2017 to 2021, 10 artistic perfumes inspired by the correspondence between a father-soldier and his daughter during the First World War are presented in Quebec, Canada and France as part of the travelling exhibition War Flowers.

05/2019

Invited to the Scent Summit organized by IAO in Amsterdam, Alexandra shares her creative process in olfactory art under the theme "The art of historical reconstruction of scents".

07/2019

As part of the great celebrations of Leonardo da Vinci's 500th anniversary, Alexandra presents at Orford Musique, a striking and symbolic work: Sfumato Invisibile, or the invisible aura of Mona Lisa, an olfactory installation and a perfume paying tribute to Lisa Gherardini at the time she was painted in the master's studio. The short film illustrating the creative process of the work, was a finalist at the Florence Films Awards in Italy and is being presented in 2020 in many festivals.

07/2020

The "Garden of Scents", an immersive, olfactory vegetal space presenting the collection in the open air is inaugurated. The place allows you to smell and experience the discovery of fragrances during an annual summer festival.

08/2021

The perfume Murmuration, composed by Alexandra is launched on May 1, 2021, is medalist "Top Fragrance 2021" at the US Artisan Fragrance Salon Awards. It won the gold medals as : Best Aroma - Best Ingredient Combinations - Mastery of the Art of Fragrance - Best Fragrance Name.

Since the opening, more than 10,000 people have taken an exclusive behind-the-scenes tour of the perfume house.

Notre histoire

Notre Histoire

«À travers les fenêtres blanches de l’atelier-boutique, il y a un carnet de formules, un orgue de composition, un ange de pierre grise, un géranium qui s’étire vers le soleil, et quelques mouillettes qu’une jolie écriture cursive a pris soin de nommer. Là, des flacons en rangées et des pipettes en bouquet; dans un coin, une tête d’hydrangée toute pâle attend patiemment que sèchent ses pétales rondes à côté des boîtes oblongues signées Alexandra Bachand. « Tout commence par un rêve». 

-Isabelle Naessens, rédactrice Henkel Média
La petite histoire

Tout commence en 2010. Alexandra Bachand quitte Montréal accompagné de son mari et leur petite famille. Elle revient aux sources. Artiste visuelle et graphique, elle est inspirée par la campagne, les jardins floraux et surtout les odeurs. C'est la croisée des chemins pour déployer un grand rêve. Elle se lance ainsi dans le plus ambitieux projet professionnel de sa vie : la création d'une Maison de parfum indépendante québécoise, dont l’atelier est ouvert au public. Au fil des ans, elle se forme au savoir-faire de la fine parfumerie et le parfum devient son médium de création artistique. C'est en Europe qu'elle apprend le métier, dans la tradition et selon les règles de l'art.
«La Grange du Parfumeur : comme dans un roman de Proust ou de Flaubert, la réminiscence d’une époque révolue, un cliché sur fond sépia, le temps y parait suspendu. « Oui ici, le temps s’arrête, confie Alexandra, avec le charme désarmant d’une madame Bovary. Dans mon atelier, trône une horloge qui n’indique pas d’heure. Les visiteurs se laissent transporter par la beauté invisible du parfum et son évocation ». C’est elle qui les accueille près du cheval de manège à l’entrée du Jardin de senteurs qu’elle a imaginé pour faire découvrir son art en créant une exposition « Parfums à ciel ouvert ». Y flottent en ce mois d’août des effluves de mûres sauvage, de lys capiteux et d’un romantisme qui sans nul doute éveille les sens. Son mari Éric Delbaere, co-fondateur et aussi artiste, fait vivre l’expérience olfactive aux clients.»

-Isabelle Naessens, rédactrice Henkel Média
La Grange en quelques dates importantes

08/2016

Lancement de la boutique en ligne.

07/2017
La Grange du Parfumeur ouvre officiellement ses portes au public après des années de recherches, de formations, de création et de préparation. Une sélection des plus belles matières premières naturelles et aromatiques composent l'orgue de la parfumeur (palette de 400 notes). Chaque parfum nécessite environ 1 an de travail en formulation avant d'être fabriqué, macéré dans l'alcool de grains d'ici et embouteillé sur place avec rigueur au laboratoire de La Grange. 

11/2018
Le premier parfum de la Maison, « Rêve à Paris » fait son entrée dans la prestigieuse collection d’archives du Conservatoire International des Parfums de Versailles en France.

Le travail d'Alexandra en tant qu'artiste en art olfactif et commissaire d'expositions est représenté dans plusieurs institutions muséales internationales. De 2017 à 2021, 10 parfums artistiques inspirés des correspondances entre un père soldat et sa fille pendant la première guerre mondiale sont présentés au Québec, au Canada et en France dans le cadre de l'exposition itinérantes Fleurs d'Armes.

05/2019
Invitée au Scent Summit organisée par IAO à Amsterdam, Alexandra partage sa démarche de création en art olfactif sous le thème « L'art de la reconstitution historique des senteurs ».

07/2019
Dans le cadre des grandes célébrations des 500 ans de Léonard de Vinci, Alexandra présente à Orford Musique, une oeuvre marquante et symbolique : Sfumato Invisibile, ou l'aura invisible de Mona Lisa, une installation olfactive et un parfum rendant hommage à Lisa Gherardini au moment où elle est peinte à l’atelier du maître. Le court-métrage illustrant le parcours de création de l’oeuvre, a été finaliste aux Florence Films Awards en Italie et est présenté en 2020 dans de nombreux festivals.

07/2020
Le « Jardin de senteurs », un espace végétal immersif, olfactif et ludique présentant la collection à ciel ouvert en grand format est inauguré. Le lieux permet de sentir et de vivre la découverte des parfums durant un festival d’été annuel.

08/2021
Le parfum Murmuration, composé par Alexandra est lancé le 1er mai 2021, est médaillé “Top Fragrance 2021” au US Artisan Fragrance Salon Awards. Il a remporté ainsi les médaille d’or à titre de : Meilleur arôme - Meilleures combinaisons d'ingrédients - Maîtrise de l’Art du parfum - Meilleur nom de parfum.


Depuis l'ouverture, plus de 10 000 personnes ont pu faire une visite exclusive des coulisses de la maison de Parfum.